Thursday, July 24, 2014

Administrative Powers of the President of India

All the executive functions of the Union are carried on in the name of the President. Under the Constitution, the President has the power to appoint -

(i) the Prime Minister of India

(ii) other Ministers of the Union

(iii) the Attorney-General of India

(iv) the Comptroller and Auditor General of India

(v) the Judges of the Supreme Court

(vi) the Judges of the High Court of the State

(vii) the Governor of the State

(viii) the Finance Commission

(ix) the members of the Union Public Service Commission and Joint Commission for a group of States

(x) the Chief Election Commissioner and other members of the Election Commission

(xi) Chairman and Members for the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes of the Commission, etc.

In fact, every appointment of the Union Government is made in the name of the President or under his authority. He directly administers the Union Territories through administrators appointed by him. He can declare any area as Scheduled Area and has powers w.r.t. the administration of Scheduled Areas and Tribal Areas.

The President shall also have the power to remove - 

(i) his Ministers, individually

(ii) Attorney-General of India

(iii) the Governor of State

(iv) The Chairman or a Member of the Public Service Commission of the Union or of a State, on the report of the Supreme Court

(v) a Judge of the Supreme Court or of a High Court or the Chief Election commissioner or the Comptroller-General of India on an address of Parliament.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Add a Comment or Query