Thursday, July 24, 2014

Chalukyas of Badami - Medieval History Part 3

In this Audio Lecture political summary of Chalukyas of Badami has been traced in detail. The Chalukyas of Badami rose in power in the mid of the sixth century. Chalukyas of Badami are known by the name of Chalukyas of Vatapai. The Chalukyas of Badami are believed to be a race of the Northern India who have enforced there rule upon the Dravidian inhabitants of South India/Deccan. The chieftain who founded the Chalukyas of Badami was Pulkesin I. 

The chronological order of the Chalukyas of Badami is as under - 

1. Pulkesin I
2. Kirtivarman I
3. Mangaldesa
4. Pulkesin II

Pulkesin II was defeated and killed by Pallava King Narasimhavarman in 642 AD. From 642 AD to 655 AD the Chalukya capital Vatapi was under the complete control of Pallavas. 

5. Vikramaditya I - Recaptured Vatapi from the Pallavas in 655 AD and re-established Chalukya supremacy in Vatapi. He ruled from 655 AD to 680 AD. 

6. Vinayaditya - Ruled from 680 AD to 696 AD

The rule of Chalukyas lasted till 753 AD. The last ruler of the Chalukya dynasty was Kirtivarman II who ruled from 746 AD to 753 AD for 7 years. He was overthrown by Dantidurga, the Rashtrakuta ruler in 753 AD.

The contribution of Chalukyas to temple architecture can be seen in Ravana Phadi Caves, Badami Caves, Navbhramha group of temples and Virupaksha temple at Hampi.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Add a Comment or Query